Speech for Point Guard College

27 Aug

Topic: Skill Development – Multiple Effort Offensive and Defensive Drills

I. intro:
Thank you Sam Allen, and rest of the people at Point Guard College for asking me to speak. It is truly an honor. I would also like to thank you for attending the clinic and choosing to listen to me.

My topic today is Skill Development -Using Multiple Effort Offensive And Defensive Drills. I want to give the disclaimer by saying that what I am going to share with you are my thoughts, beliefs and concepts that I have used to develop players throughout my 27 year coaching career. If you don’t agree or don’t like what I am showing it is ok.

II. Skill development:

A. Skill development has always been my passion.
B. It is the most enjoyable part of the game for me.
C. It gives you the opportunity to build a trusting relationship with your players/team through shared sweat equity.

III. What makes a good skill session:

A. workouts should be parts of the whole geared toward improvement.
B. Players must be taken out of their comfort zone.
C. all the players should do all the drills. Regardless of their position.
D. Weak hand development is a must and should be a part of every workout.
E. When teaching…using sound bites.
F. Each drill should not be more than 12 mins(2 mins of explanation & 10 mins of activity)
G. should have fluidity btw drill to drill
H. Name you drills after pro(players will connect w/the drill better).
I. Make the skill sessions about improvement and not punishment.
J. Come to the skills session with plan/schedule in hand.
K. Design your skill sessions to compete vs the participants. For the player the competition is:
them vs. coach
Them vs.the other ppl in the workout
Them vs themselves
L. Whenever possible chart shots.
M. Whenever possible use the clock.
N. Should teach secure players vs insecure player(being a great teammate).
O. Should teach leadership/Followship (by rotating your leaders throughout the workout).
P. Should develop/raise the participants Bball iq by teaching the y and just the how. By using imagination/creativity.
R. Teaches how to improve instincts through repetition.
S. Building of good habits
T. Build Up/never tare down

IV. Conclusion:
In all that you do as a coach/educator: pouring into your players, and investing in them as people is the most important. I challenge you to impact as many lives as you through the game of basketball. Create “LIVING TROPHIES!

Leave a Reply

